Erin - I'm sad but not surprised that you chose to write such a negative review and spin on this unfortunate situation, but I am shocked that you lied three different ways here about it and used words that are both offensive and imply something not just inappropriate but criminal. I had to go back to our exchanges to make sure I wasn’t crazy before responding. My Airbnb reviews are very important to me as are & more importantly the experiences of my guests. I think my other reviews show this clearly.
I’m very sorry about this whole situation but especially your handling of it. I’m always happy to take responsibility for any problem or mistake I made but don’t think I did here.
I agree to accept a couch surfer for the last two nights of your extended stay which clearly offended you. When you let me know via an email with both alarming and threatening language, I responded. I reminded you that you had only paid for a room, not the whole house and that your stay was deeply discounted. I told you in advance that I may accept other guests while you were there since you were only paying for a room which you were fine with. Still you had the full house to yourself for the majority of your stay despite only paying a small amount for one of my five bedrooms. This seems rather not the point - except you lied about our exchange. I never said you should have paid double in this exchange or ever.
I went out of my way to make sure you were well taken care of - going beyond normal host responsibilities and arranging a driver to pick you up at the airport. Because I was not around for your stay, I checked in during your stay to make sure everything was okay. I was quite taken aback when I received a vitriolic email about your outrage over having someone stay a few nights for free while you were a paid guest staying. You said you were "concerned about the security of my belongings " explicitly because she was a couch surfer and implied she wasn't vetted because of it. It is worth noting that couch surfing and Airbnb have similar vetting and rating systems, and I'm no more worried about the security from one to the other. I've had mostly positive experiences with my guests on both sites and ironically the notable acceptions have only been bad Airbnb guests. This particular guest had only positive ratings. It is also important to note that while I was not there, my roommate was - and I asked her for permission/support in advance to make sure it was okay. I didn't think I needed your permission, but obviously, you did. However - once you made clear how uncomfortable you were with the guest - I immediately asked her to leave. I take the satisfaction and more importantly the safety & security of my guests very very seriously. Once you used to let me know you were concerned about the security of your belongings, I felt the need to take immediate action. This was NOT "against your request” the second lie of yours above - nor did I tell her it was at your request. What I did was tell her the truth - that you were upset that she was there & that she made you uncomfortable. That I was honest with her clearly upset you further. But even now I'm still really not sure what you wanted. I'm sorry you were upset and said so immediately and took action to make it better. The comfort of my guests - all guests - but especially paying guests is very very important to me and that was what I said to you. I apologised that you were uncomfortable. Your reaction to this incident is still shocking to me but clearly was no way to make you happy. I'm still taken aback by your emails about the situation and how you handled this so for you imply I was "unprofessional" is more than the pot calling the kettle black.
Your third lie is that I somehow used "extortion" to stop you from reporting this. You made it clear from your first email about the situation that you sent that you were going to write the negative review which you just did. I asked you not and tried to make the situation better. I NEVER said I would give you a negative review so to imply extortion is both offensive and outrageous. I did say I would not give you a review (which is also very common here) and asked you to do the same. In fact I wrote you a simple positive review which I now regret. I’m sorry you were offended that I took in a couch surfer but I’m more sad and sorry for the sort of person you are that would upset by it and then lie about me. I tried to make you happy. I should have written a negative review because you do not have the sort of character that I’m comfortable having in any of my homes. I’m still not sure what you were so upset about - the guest being a couch surfer, her race, religion, or economic status or what I just know you didn’t like her, and you weren’t going to be satisfied no matter what I did. Your judgement, threats, and handling of this situation was not cool your reviews with lies just makes it worse.
It is hard when you rent out individual rooms and manage multiple guests. I’m very fortunate that I’ve had only positive experiences with this up until this situation. Sadly - and I do think it is sad, but I will no longer accept couch surfers if or when I have an Airbnb guest. I’ll own that as a mistake that I won’t repeat.
I think I have an awesome house in Kigali, beautiful compound, great location, amenities, wonderful staff - much bigger and better than the pictures and certainly of your review. And normally great guests. Sorry that you didn't appreciate any of that.