I'm sorry to receive such a review and I regret that you feel you did not enjoy your stay. The house was renovated between 2015 and 2016 and yours is the first negative review we have received on this property. I would like to address your statements, all of which are either false or misleading, as they stand. It's simply not fair to the property owner not to do so. Here are the facts -
1) You say:’nearly 300 euros for 2 weeks.’
My answer: Incorrect: the electricity charges were 240 euros and the owner charged you 200 euros for your 2 weeks stay. The meter was read at the start and at the end of your stay. The grounds are huge ( 4,500sq.m.). The electricity consumption reflects your use of lighting, aircon, fans etc.
2) You say: ‘There are no restaurants or bars within walking distance’.
My answer: Incorrect : we say there is one restaurant within walking distance and that is correct , Casa Rosa.
There is also a pizzeria /café’/bar in S.Maria del Focallo , where the villa is located, 550 m. away, also walking distance.
More Restaurants : Verde Basilico 3.8km , il Veliero 3.7km , lido Otello 3km , La Lampara 5.8km
3) You say:’Rubbish everywhere’:
My answer: incorrect: the villa is set in its own large private grounds 4,500sq.m. In Italy home owners are required to take their rubbish to large bins which are located in designated areas along public roads. As a fovour the owner agreed to help you by taking your rubbish to the nearest council bin which was about 500m from the villa. There was no other rubbish.
4) You say:’ Semi derelict and abandoned houses everywhere’
My answer: We have taken pictures of the houses surrounding the villa and they are certainly not derelict. Some may not have been occupied when you were there as they are second homes. We can provide the pictures upon request.
5) You say: ‘hopeless Internet ’
My answer:We are sorry if the internet was not as fast as you would have wished. This may have been affected by numerous people trying to download content simultaneously.
6) You say ‘Narrow dirty strip of beach’
My answer: Incorrect : The pictures of the beach are on our webpage. I have also copied below some recent reviews from trip advisor on Santa Maria del Focallo beach:
Antonia B 162
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile This is the place of my dreams. Miles of soft sand, shallow water and no neighbors. Sunny all day long, clean and with sand dunes behind. I like that it isn’t in any top 5, 10 beaches. Hidden gem.
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile The beach is huge, very clean, shallow water and only a few Italians. Quite lonely. Estimated 4 to 500 meters wide and several kilometers long. If there were still palm trees here, it could also be the Caribbean or Asia. Great.
7) You say ‘Rates in the games storage room and droppings everywhere’.
My answer: Incorrect: There is no games storage room. You entered an outbuilding at the back of the property , which is used by the owner to store garden tools etc.
This small outbuilding is off limits to guests and the owner had explained this to you.
8) You say: ’Live wires hanging out of the sitting room wall’.
My answer: Incorrect: There are no hanging wires. More pics were taken after your review to demostrate this.
9) You say: ’room had no air con for the whole of the first 8 days’
My answer: Incorrect : within 24 hours of your arrival you were shown how to use the air conditioning and it was working at that stage. We did not hear from you until the following Monday on this matter, so we assumed it was ok. On the following Monday you told us it was not working. Within a few hours we sent a technician who sorted the problem.
10) You say: ‘The BBQ was filthy, the fridge mouldy’.
My answer: We apologise the BBQ griddle was old. When you pointed this out on arrival, we arranged for a new griddle , which was provided to you within 24 hours. Fridges incorrect:The 3 fridges are in excellent condition. We have also taken pictures and we have forwarded them to Airbnb.
11) You say: ‘The beds are awful, tied together with bits of string and old, lumpy and smelly’
My answer: Our villa description states that : ‘All the beds in the bedrooms can be either 2 single beds or joined together to form a double bed’.
New mattresses were bought when the villa was refurbished 3 years ago and they are still in good condition.
On the second week of your stay you asked for 2 of the twin bedrooms to be made into doubles. This was done by joining the 2 single beds together (as per our description) and the use of a double mattress cover and double bed linen.
12) You say: ‘the bedrooms are not private enough’
My answer: Incorrect: each of the 4 bedrooms has its own door and its own en suite bathroom. The walls are brick walls.
13) You say: ‘The hot water rarely worked’
My answer: Incorrect : on your 3rd day at 8:00 you called the owner to notify him that the hot water had run out. At 8:15 (ie within 15 minutes) the caretaker came and swapped the gas cylinder , which had run out ( there is no piped gas in the area ).
14) ‘We asked for the most basic things, hot water, a pillow each, bowls etc. The comments above are absolutely typical of their attitude to us. They don’t feel responsible for providing the basics, let alone luxury extras like a towel each! You have been warned....
My answer: We feel that this comment is completely unwarrented and therefore unfair. Not only was the villa equipped with the 'basics' and more but the owner took all reasonable steps to accommodate your additional requests during your stay.
You told us there was no aircon in the lounge ( incorrect as there are two 12,000 btu units) and demanded fans ( not in the description). The owner in less than 24 hours provided fans, free of charge, as a gesture of good will , in spite of the villa being fully air conditioned.
You demanded 2 pillows per person ( the beds are normally provided with 1 pillow pp) again the owner gave you a number of extra pillows.
You had , not only 1 towel each , but a set of towels each, plus you had pool towels.
You told the owner there were no hairdryers . The maid came, showed you the 2 hair dryers already in the villa and again as a gesture of good will provided you with 2 extra hair dryers, so you had 1 in each bathroom.
From day 2 of your 2 weeks stay you were asking for suitable compensation which we feel is not due.
We have also taken pictures and we have forwarded them to Airbnb.
We have raised a case with Airbnb about your stay and complaint. As your statements do not reflect the reality.
We pride ourselves to do our best to ensure our clients enjoy their holiday and try to cater for all requests within reason. We did the same with your group and provided you with all the extras you asked for.